Tags

, ,

Hello World! It’s good to be back!

Warning: Today’s post might be a bit of a ramble because I have no idea who/what/or where I’ve been for the past oh, I don’t know… two months?

First let me update you on the post-NaNoWriMo Keely. She has not touched her script since November 30th. She also apparently speaks in third person. See what writing does to people?!

Second, Ashley and I have moved into a 2 bedroom apartment! No, this has nothing to do with our artistic endeavors, but I’m absolutely elated about it! The new apartment is stunning and I’d like to give a big shout out to our Moms for making it so.

Third, I need an honest opinion. Has anyone seen Little Shop of Horrors? What did you think? I had to review this show last Friday night and I’ll be honest, I went in not knowing anything about it. I haven’t even seen the movie. So when it started with 60s doo-wop music, I was pumped. But my pumped-ness pretty much ends there. Let me be clear: the performers, the set, lighting, music, and all other production aspects were great. And the vocals on some of those ladies! Shoo child! They were incredible! But the actual show, Little Shop of Horrors? Sorry but to me, it falls flat. There’s no story, and the characters are stereotypical tropes. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for a good time at the theatre but this show was created by the legendary Alan Menken and Howard Ashman. ALADDIN! I mean… I guess I was just expecting a little more.

Thankfully I also got to see Les Mis this weekend at the Princess of Wales Theatre (again, BIG thanks to my wonderful mother for this one!) And it just made everything right in the world again. I cannot get over how incredibly enthralling and entrancing this performance was. Val Jean, played by Ramin Karimloo (who was Enjorlas in the 25th Anniversary Live Performance!!) was un-FREAKING-real. His Bring Him Home… it’s a song I’ve never particularly warmed to until I heard him sing it. Also, Melissa O’Neil’s Eponine was cooler than cool. She has such a contemporary voice while keeping with the time the show was set.

Ramin Karimloo

Ramin Karimloo

Melissa O'Neil

Melissa O’Neil

Les Mis made me fall in love with theatre all over again. My cheeks hurt from smiling so much. Especially during One Day More, it’s my absolute favourite song in the entire show. And they delivered it with such ferocity and power! It made me want to join the revolution!

So, if you’re in Toronto and need a shot of adrenaline go see Les Mis. That is all I have to say.

I dreamed a dream we’re all going to have a phenomenal week and I hope it comes true for all of you!

-K

(And no, I’m not apologizing for that lame pun.)

Follow us @WeArtsy