Tags

, , , ,

Good morning, arties! Guess what? Keely and I have a secret. And no, we’re not telling you what it is yet.

I will say that since we’ve been working on this secret project, I’ve needed to get a little bit more creative with my procrastination tools. A quick Facebook check every five minutes just doesn’t cut it for me, guys.

It can be an issue when your creative hobbies become real-life work endeavours (don’t make me laugh, guys… of course there’s no money involved in this), because all your regular distractions from work are your actual work. Plus, you know, this is work that I actually want to work on, but a girl still needs a quick break every once in a while, right?

Here are three speedy distractions I’ve discovered that—while assisting with procrastination—still help keep those creative juice flowing!

The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

Guys, it’s official. I’ve been living under a stupid rock.

I had definitely heard of, been impressed by, and even WATCHED episodes of The Lizzie Bennett Diaries in the past, but for some reason, I hadn’t yet been swept away by its wonderfulness.

For those of you who don’t know (and, if so, shame on you), The Lizzie Bennett Diaries is a web series on YouTube that catapults Pride and Prejudice into the 21st century by sitting it’s protagonist down at a computer, giving her a video blog, and a whole lot of sister drama to vlog about. (And a particularly rude male acquaintance, of course).

The acting is superb, the wit is sharp, the cheesy, impressions are to die for, and for once, I actually love Jane Austen. The best part, though? The episodes average at only three minutes in length.

Also, no big deal, but it also won an Emmy this year for Outstanding Creative Achievement in Interactive Media.

So watch it, my friends, and reap the benefits of its quick-witted, three-minute perfection. (I’m talking to you, Tabitha).

Sporcle:

This website was quite literally my savior during essay season in university. Sporcle is a host of hundreds of timed web quizzes, dubbed “mentally stimulating diversions”, and found in just about every possible category under the sun.

Want to try to guess the Most Common Words in the English Language? Check it out. Is guessing songs 90s Songs By Their First 10 Seconds more your style? Not a problem! What about Sports Logos or Time Magazine Covers or Justice League Villians? They’re all here!

Seriously, anyone could find a quiz they would love, and especially when you’re working hard and need to not turn into a vegetable on the couch in front of a rerun of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, they’re the perfect distraction! Keeps the juices flowing in your brain, and are wildly entertaining.

During my university career, I learned the countries of the world AND the top two hundred Harry Potter characters by heart. What more could one ask for?

Check out the site here.

The Funniest Twitter-er I Know:

I have been dying to have an excuse to gush about one of my favourite people, and finally – here we are! My sista-cousin (totally a real thing, guys), Riley is by far one of the funniest people I know. She was my daily dose of entertainment in 140 characters or less BEFORE twitter even existed. And then, from deep in the foggy abyss of Internet Wonderland emerged a social media platform seemingly born specifically to give her particular brand of hilarious a home.

I tell absolutely everyone I know to follow her, and at least once a week scrolling through her old tweets is my go-to burst of creative (and hilarious) distraction. Here are some of her shiniest gems!

Anyway, artsies, that’s all for now. Perhaps we shall reveal our secret to you in the near future. Don’t get too excited, though. It actually has nothing to do with you.

…Or maybe it has EVERYTHING to do with you. Maybe it DEPENDS on you.

Basically, we need people to be accountable to in order to get stuff done, and you guys just might be our ticket!

Until next time, I wish you all a pleasant week full of bursts of ‘productive’ distraction!

-A

Follow us @WeArtsy