Tags

,

Brace yourselves for what I’m about to say. Maybe sit down first. You ready? Okay.

I think Thanksgiving is better than Christmas. *Ducks and covers*

Before you go all Housewives of Orange Florida or whatever on me, here me out.

Thanksgiving is not as commercialized. People are calmer. There’s no pressure because it’s just about families getting together, eating whopping amounts of delicious food until the point of blowtation, and being thankful. There are no lists of who has to get what for whom or making sure you spend this much for this person. Thanksgiving is just time together. Also Fall is my favourite season and winter/cold/snow/cold/slush/cold is still a few weeks away.

This year, my entire family on Mom’s side rented a cottage near Fenelon Falls for the Thanksgiving weekend. We were a whopping 18 people in one space. We ate (every 20 minutes, on the 20 minutes), played games, talked, bonded, and just enjoyed each other’s company. I learned that my aunt is a dangerous competitor, I am at my best when smack talk is involved, Spoons is like the Hunger Games of card games, and Nana finally admitted that I’m her favourite.

It was so interesting to see our different personalities mixing, meshing (and a bit of crashing) together. I mean, four days is a long time for a big group like that to all be in the same place. While at the cottage, a couple family members got some difficult news from the outside world. The whole family rallied behind them offering support, comfort, and love. I’m not happy about the news but it was really heartwarming to see how my family cares for its own and others. It’s comforting to know you have a group of people in your corner when times are tough.

Sure everything isn’t always smooth sailing. There are disagreements, we bicker. (Sorry, passively make comments to one another with a look of “you know why”. Seriously, there are some members who have made passive aggression into an art form!) But hey, no one’s perfect and every family is dysfunctional in some way or another. And those who aren’t are lying.

But this weekend, in the grand scheme of things, was perfect. And I don’t think it would have happened at Christmas. So this year I’m grateful for the time together and the memories we made.

Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful too! (And if you’re in the States… Happy Founder’s Day.) (And if you’re elsewhere, Happy Mid October!)

-K

Follow us @WeArtsy