Tags

, ,

Morning, artsies!

This week I’d like to introduce you to one of the most amazing, talented ladies I know. Her name? Jamie Gabbani. Mark it down folks. It’s a name you’ll want to be remembering in the future, I promise.

I met Jamie six years ago when she walked into the theatre I was working in and sucker-punched me in the gut. Okay, it was actually her audition for The Wizard of Oz that did that. She sang Colours of the Wind from Pocahontas and actually shocked me speechless (which is hard to do, let’s be real).

The thing is, it was extremely clear how shy she was. She barely said a word at all, and her required monologue was directed more to her shoes than to us.

But then she sang.

At only eleven-years-old, and with little-to-no acting experience, she beat out her older, teenage peers for the role of Dorothy in our community production. That summer she proved her acting chops, too…in eight sold out shows, no less. Jamie’s basically a rock star. Seriously, have you written her name down yet?

I’ve had the privilege of catching glimpses throughout the past few years as she’s grown into the confident, beautiful—even MORE talented—young lady she is today. And despite the immensity of her talent, she is still 1098335_471675342927596_680466679_none of the sweetest, most unassuming people I know.

Less than a month ago, Jamie released her first EP on iTunes called One Shot Life. You NEED to check it out.

And even more recently she has debuted the video for her first single, Now That I’ve Met Me in affiliation with the Tim Horton’s Children’s Foundation.

The first time I watched this video, I immediately thought back to that shy girl singing a Disney song on an empty stage six years ago with absolutely no clue how utterly incredible she was. I think it took her a bit of time to see herself the way we all saw her that day, but it soon happened.

And here I am, watching her music video, thinking how appropriate is it for the confident, budding star that was once the girl who didn’t look up from her shoes to debut with a video called Now That I’ve Met Me.

Words cannot express how proud I am of this lady. I am so excited to watch her continue on this journey of hers, and have absolutely no doubt of the amazing things she’ll be conquering in her very near future.

Love you, Jamie Gabbani!

…Oh wait, one more thing.

I swore to Jamie I would never, ever let her live down the following tidbit, and now I’m here to fulfill that promise…

One time I beat Jamie at the SingStar karaoke version of Big Girls Don’t Cry.

Oh, yeah. It happened, folks.

(We’ll pretend that her loss WASN’T due to the fact that she couldn’t stop laughing at my less than stellar vocals, and just agree that CLEARLY I was the better singer. Sound good?)

Okay, fine. She lost because she was laughing.

Anyway, in case this wasn’t clear already – I love this girl.

Be sure to take the time to check out Jamie’s album and her video, as well as her website, and pass them on to your friends, too! I hope she proves as much an inspiration to you, as she is to me!

Thanks a million, and I hope you have a stellar weekend!

-A

Follow us @WeArtsy