Tags

, , , ,

It would be a vast understatement to say that we were shocked and deeply saddened by the death of Glee’s Cory Monteith.

I hesitate to say too much in fear that I will come off as trite or insincere. Because the fact of the matter is, I didn’t know Cory. I knew Finn Hudson.cory-monteith-found-dead

The following quotation is from an article by Ben Pobjie of The Sydney Morning Herald. He has beautifully and accurately summed up the odd and distant sense of mourning that all fans of Glee have been grappling with these past few days.

“We don’t actually know the people on TV. We know this, but the purpose and genius of television is to lull us into feeling that we do.

We gain an impression of TV stars, a personality and image cooked up from their character, their public persona, and the superimposition of our own desires, and we hang on to that. 

And so the death of Cory Monteith shocked us to our core, shook our worldview, because we knew him – not as Cory, a young man with all the complexities and demons that a human is subject to, but as Finn from Glee.

And as Finn we loved him, we cared for him, and we never imagined that he would have anything but a happy ending, because Glee was a show in the business of happy endings.”

If you have a moment, take a look at the rest of this article here.

In response to my confusion regarding this strange form of grief, Keely pointed out that this is the first beloved celebrity of our generation that has left the world so tragically soon.

She said it best when she reminded me that Glee was a very prominent constant during a time in both of our lives that was riddled with change, heartache, and that scary, unsettling prospect called growing up.

…And a very happy, rewarding constant it was. A constant that reached out to the very group of people we happened to be—people struggling amidst the somewhat unhelpful world as we tried to figure out who the hell we were and who we wanted to be.

Although I would be lying if I said that Finn was my favourite character on Glee, or Cory my favourite actor, I would be first person to agree that Finn Hudson was the heart and soul of what Glee stands for. When Finn (and Cory) was in his element and at his strongest, so was Glee.

At this moment though, I find myself with very little concern for the show I love so dearly, and instead feel so tremendously heartsick for Cory’s loved ones and fellow cast mates who, like the article above suggests, I have the nerve to think that I know.

I would also like to send my love out to the other Gleeks around the world who, like me (and amongst their own lives and busy schedules) find their thoughts straying to that lovable boy with a smirk that could melt ice, and awkward dance moves that could make even the hardest of hearts grow fonder.

I will leave you with this video as a reminder of how Cory captured all of our hearts in the first place.

We love you, Cory.

-A

Follow us @WeArtsy