Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Dear Internet,

Sorry I missed our date last Tuesday. I had to go and… graduate!

Insert happy dance here.

So remember a while ago when I told you about the kickstarter for Starkid’s new show Twisted? Well, we’re going!!!! And in preparation for the show, we decided it’d be a good idea to watch some of their past work with some fellow Starkidians.

We spent the weekend like Ron circa AVPM – snack always in hand – and watched all three Potter musicals. Sure it sounds overwhelming, but someone had to do it.

I hadn’t watched AVPM or AVPS for quite some while so for me, it was chockablock full of surprise lines, expressions, and moments that I had forgotten. I know, I know, how could I? Well, I have maybe one of the worst memories around. I’m pretty sure my roommate is obliviating my mind behind my back. It makes me want to curl up in my sock drawer and sleep for days!

Ahem. But what I really took away from this youtubathon is just how much better Starkid has become. Sure AVPM and AVPS are awesome. They’re hilarious! But, they are parodies. AVPSY is a friggin’ show. Everything from costumes to songs, the writing, conciseness of the show, even the acting has been kicked up a notch. I mean, they’re all holding scripts and most of the time I don’t even notice.

It’s just so incredibly inspiring to see how far Starkid has come and how much support they have rallying behind them. It’s a community I love being a part of.

Which brings me to my next point: how off the wall excited I am for Twisted!!

twisted-starkid-musical

For those who don’t know, Twisted is the story of Jafaar. It’s like Wicked but with Aladdin. So, basically, Starkid and one f my favourite Disney movies together? Yup, I’m in.

And I’m dying to know who everyone is! They announced their cast list but no parts have been revealed. But I thought I’d make a few predictions of my own:

I think Jeff Blim would make an amazing Jafaaar
Lauren Lopez as Iago
Meredith Stepian as Abu
Oh and wouldn’t Joe Walker make a smashing magic carpet?

This is all just speculation. I have no idea what we’ll be seeing on that stage in less than three weeks. All I know for sure is that it’s going to be a whole new world from Starkid and I’m so ready to go!

Have a great week artsies!

-K

 

And follow us @WeArtsy