Tags

, , , ,

Guys. I’m officially no longer a student. ‘Scuse me while I have a mini panic attack.

Okay done. Now, enough about me. I have a question for all of you:

Do you ever get into a rut of not reading? This year I’ve gone months at a time without picking up a non-related school book. I mean, what the what? I think it boils down to laziness but that makes me feel ashamed so let’s pretend it’s something more legitimate.

So this summer, now that I’m done school (forever… Gulp!) I’ve decided to step up my reading game. There are books that have just been sitting on my shelf waiting to be read. Books I have yet to acquire that I’m dying to read. And books I plan to steal/borrow from Ashley (love ya buddy!) But this summer, I want to take it one step further. I’m challenging myself to read at least five books outside my area of interest. Because guys, I’m a grown up now and, I’ve got to expand my horizons… so they tell me.

But in all seriousness, I’m interested in stepping outside my comfort zone and immersing myself in a story I would normally shy away from. It’s like going to a play you know nothing about. And those often end up being my favourite ones. Someday I’ll get around to telling you my Next to Normal experience.

My first new adventure will be Jean-Dominique Bauby’s The Diving-Bell and the Butterfly. Bauby suffered from a massive stroke that caused ‘locked-in syndrome’. Essentially, after his stroke, Bauby was completely lucid and functional but because of the damage to his brain stem, he had no control over his body. The only part of himself he could move was his left eye lid.

And yet, he wrote a book.

I’m incredibly excited to dive into this man’s mind and try to understand the experience he worked so hard to communicate. It’s a short book so I’m thinking next Tuesday you’ll be hearing about Monsieur Bauby. Stay tuned!

Have a stunningly wonderful week!

-K

Follow us @WeArtsy