Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Thursday, Artsies!!

So a few weeks back (okay, fine, two months) Keely and I were lucky enough to get an email from a reader! (Does this mean we’re famous?) And no sir, it wasn’t from Mom! Though it was ages ago, we were asked where we look for inspiration to write, and today I decided to give at least half an answer.

I think this blog in general is a place for us to garner inspiration—from readers, from family and friends, from each other, and from within ourselves. Looking back at our previous posts, and though this seems super obvious given our blog’s particular theme, every little thing we’ve mused about, promoted, obsessed over, learned, or defended was something that inspired us. Whether that inspiration went to writing specifically, or for any creative endeavour.

So dear reader, (forgive me, I wasn’t sure if you wanted to be named here or not!), the short answer is, we look for it everywhere.

TedTalks and my favourite books are usually my go-to places, but lately, I’ve taken to writing down quotes. Last month I even bought this really expensive notebook to collect them all in… they’d thus far been scattered on random post-its, typed on my phone, saved on my desktop, or dog-earred in books…so now I have a one-stop place to warm up my creative muscles!

The quotes the stir up the most creativity in me change given the time, place, my mood… but lately, there are three particular ones that have been sticking with me, so I decided to share them with you all!

1.

onceMad Hatter/Jefferson: Stories. Stories? What’s a story? When you were in high school, did you learn about the Civil War?

Emma: Yeah, of course.

Mad Hatter/Jefferson: How? Did you read about it, perchance, in a book? How is that any less real than any other book?

Emma: History books are based on history.

Mad Hatter/Jefferson: And storybooks are based on what, imagination? Where’s that come from? It has to come from somewhere. You know what the issue is with this world? Everyone wants a magical solution for their problem, and everyone refuses to believe in magic.

Once Upon a Time, Season 1 Episode 17 “Hat Trick”

It sounds silly, but I need to believe in just about everything to feel like I am in my strongest ‘writing zone’. This usually means that I don’t have a clear-cut plan, which… is not my strong suit. I like this quote for dozens of reasons, but the most important of which is to just believe in the magic of stories, and the magic that can happen when writing them.

2.

“He’s like a storybook spirit, a little djinn or something, except instead of air or water his element is mr-penumbras-24-hour-bookstoreimagination.”

-Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan

This one makes the cut because I still haven’t gotten this beautiful book off of my mind since I read in two months ago. Even though it follows the intersection of the old, dusty, crooked shelved book world with the new-age digital one, it still leaves room for gems like this quote. The quirky, magical, djinn-like Mr. Penumbra will make you fall in love with books all over again. How’s that for some inspiration?

3.IMG_0723

In Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, in the span of a chapter, Dumbledore has four of his all time greatest lines. (And I’m sure I don’t need to tell any of you that this is saying something, as no man can turn a phrase quite like Albus Dumbledore).

How reassuring is it to think of words as this never-ending resources we have, to do with what we will? To think that it can never truly be impossible, because we each already have an endless supply that is our own?

That quote is inspiring to me for many more obvious reasons when it comes to conjuring up some creativity, but there is another I cannot move on without mentioning. It is, perhaps, my favourite quote of all time… So, I have to add a number…

4.

dumbledore-and-harry-at-kings-cross-station-spirit-worldHarry: Professor? Is this all real? Or is it just happening inside my head?

Dumbledore: Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry. But why should that mean that it is not real?

 

Professor Dumbledore. You changed my life, you kooky old man. And made me feel a lot less crazy.

So, is there a conclusion to be drawn from all of this? A common thread, perhaps?

Fine. I LIKE magic, okay? And I wish it were real. The End.

But actually, figure out what inspires you and surround yourself with it as much as possible! It’s the only way to keep you trucking along in this not-so Artsy world!

Follow us @WeArtsy

-A