Tags

, , , , ,

Let’s ask ourselves:

What is performance?

Ha ha, just kidding. Thought I was going to get all pretentious-ey there for a second didntcha? Don’t worry, I wouldn’t do that to you.

Now, let me take a swirl of my robust chardonnay, pause my foreign film, and adjust my lens less thick-rimmed glasses. Ah, much better.

And now to post.

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been taking a scriptwriting program at Algonquin College in Ottawa since September. Initially, I went into the program with full intentions of writing plays. I grew up in and around theatre and it’s always had a special place in my cardiac muscle. In high school, theatre was the best part of my day. I mean, I spent the last three weeks of classes with fellow thespians painting sets for the middle school play. Shhh don’t tell Mom.

Blast from the past: High School Thespians

Blast from the past: High School Thespians

Seriously though, we were seniors! And instead of leaving campus like normal teenagers, we chose to stick around and paint sets because we loved it. Okay, and we didn’t want to go to biology. But for me, that communal aspect is one of the best parts about getting involved in theatre.

Jump forward to present day. With just two months left of my scriptwriting program till I have to go join the real world (I just spat out my chardonnay), I’ve been thinking a lot about the kind of writing I want to do when I get out of here. I’ve changed my mind a trillion times between TV, theatre, or BOTH.

But today is a theatre day—I’m back on the stage wagon! Not that I ever left. And if I did, it was probably to pee because I have a very small bladder okay?

We had the festival director for Ottawa’s undercurrents: theatre below mainstream come and talk to our class today and he was so cool! (I saw two of the plays, Little Iliad and Little Orange Man. Check out my reviews here.) He touched on a number of topics but one that really caught my attention was how a play can go from “page to stage”.

He took us through the steps of chatting with the director, bringing in actors for a table read, consulting with set and costume designers and so on until you have a finished product that’s fit for an audience. He enthusiastically explained how each of these groups bring their own ideas and interpretations to the script and how, together, they mesh and mould this new performance. Again, I love the collaborativity! (That’s collaborative + community and yes, I will be speaking to Webster about it.)

So essentially, after all that, what I want to say to you today my fellow artsies is this:

Theatre is alive. It all starts with a script and, once its gathered a team of minions, becomes this living, breathing, real entity that is utilized to explore and reflect the human experience.

Aaand scene. Too dramatic? Uhm, well, what I mean is, theatre is awesome. Check it out.

Happy Tuesday folks!

-K

Follow us at @WeArtsy!